for viola, bass clarinet, and piano (2019)



San Francisco new music trio, Slow Wave, giving the world premiere of Paraphrase by Brett Austin Eastman at Center For New Music on October 5th, 2019. This piece was written for Slow Wave - Naomi Stine on piano, Kyle Beard on bass clarinet, and Justine Preston on viola.


for viola, bass clarinet in Bb, and piano

Program Notes

PARAPHRASE is a work for viola, bass clarinet, and piano in three movements. Each movement presents a five- minute piece of music with its own unique character and mood, with inter-connected themes. Each has at least one paraphrase that evolves and expands beyond the original source – one passage from Liszt, one from a 90’s sludge-core band called Noothgrush, two passages from previous works of mine, and a perceived paraphrase, as in, music that I believe was channeled from somewhere else. The ensemble should play with the audacity of a rock band, with a lot of space for expression.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “PARAPHRASE”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Questions and Answers

You are not logged in